What is EU?

The European Union is a unique economic and political union between 28 European countries that together cover much of the continent. European Union aims at ensuring peace, prosperity and freedom for its more than 500 mln citizens.



EU Institutions

European ParliamentEuropean ParliamentSimilar to a state, the EU has a legislative branch (Parliament + Council), executive branch (Commission) and independent judiciary (Court of Justice).

The powers of the EU institutions have been laid down by founding treaties negotiated and ratified by member countries. In policy areas not covered by the treaties, national governments are free to exercise their own sovereignty.


You can follow the links for more information about EU institutions:


1. Institutional Affairs

2. European Parliament

3. European Council

4. Council of the European Union

5. European Commission

6. Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU)

7. European Central Bank (ECB)

8. European Court of Auditors (ECA)

9. European External Action Service (EEAS)

10. European Economic and Social Committee (EESC)

11. European Committee of the Regions (CoR)

12. European Investment Bank (EIB)

13. European Ombudsman

14. European Data Protection Supervisor (EDPS)

15. Interinstitutional bodies