Georgia and the EU

The European Union and Georgia enjoy a very close and positive relationship. The EU-Georgia Association Agreement entered into force in July 2016 and strives for political association and economic integration between the EU and Georgia. The EU and Georgia have also entered into a Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area (DCFTA), while Georgian citizens have benefitted from visa free travel to the Schengen area since 28 March 2017. The EU is Georgia's largest trading partner and provides over €100 million to Georgia annually in technical and financial assistance.

Visa Liberalization

Visa LiberalizationThe visa facilitation and readmission agreements with Georgia entered into force on 1 March 2011. The visa facilitation agreement sets a lower visa fee for all Georgian citizens and waives fees for broad categories of visa applicants such as children, pensioners, students, people visiting family members living in the EU, people in need of medical treatment, economic operators working with EU companies, sportsmen and women, participants in cultural exchanges, or journalists. The visa facilitation agreement also accelerates procedures for assessing visa applications and sets the obligation of issuing multiple-entry visas with long period of validity for certain categories of frequent travellers. 

On 29 May 2012 the Council welcomed the Commission's intention to launch a visa liberalisation dialogue with Georgia. From 28 March Georgian nationals with biometric passport can travel visa-free to the 26 countries of the Schengen Area and stay for 90 days in any 180-day period.


Here you can find Frequently Asked Questions about Visa Free Travel in the EU Schengen Area.


You can find here also the main Stages of Visa Liberalization process:


1. The EU starts a visa liberalisation dialogue with Georgia

2. The first Progress Report on Georgia, published in November 2013

3. The second Progress Report on Georgia, published in October 2014

4. The third Progress Report on Georgia, published in May 2015

5. The fourth Progress Report (final report) on Georgia, published in December 2015

6. Proposal for a REGULATION OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT AND OF THE COUNCIL -  The European Commission proposed on 9 March 2016 to allow visa-free travel to the Schengen area for Georgian citizens holding a biometric passport. This proposal for available translations of the preceding builds on the successful implementation by Georgia of all the benchmarks set in its Visa Liberalisation Action Plan

7. Statement by Commissioner Avramopoulos on the Council adoption of visa liberalisation for Georgia - The decision to transfer Georgia to the list of third countries whose nationals are exempt from visa requirement came into effect on 28 March 2017. From this date, the visa obligation for citizens of Georgia who hold a biometric passport and want to travel to the Schengen zone for a short-stay was abolished.