Which are next steps for Visa Free travel to Georgian citizens?

Statement of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in reaction to the trilateral meeting on Georgia’s visa liberalization with the EU:


"On 13 December, a trilateral meeting was held between the EU Council, the European Parliament and the European Commission on Georgia’s visa liberalization with the EU. The aim of the meeting was to reach agreement over the final text of amendments to Regulation 539/2001 on granting visa-free travel to Georgian citizens.

We welcome the fact that the agreement between the EU institutions was reached during the very first meeting. According to the follow-up procedures, the agreed edition of the new rules will be approved by the Permanent Representatives Committee (COREPER) and the European Parliament’s Committee on Civil Liberties, Justice and Home Affairs (LIBE).

This will be followed by the vote at the European Parliament’s plenary session, after which the amended regulation will be formally approved by the EU Council at the level of Ministers.

Upon signature of the legislative amendment by the President of the European Parliament and a representative of the country holding the EU presidency, the Regulation will be published in the official journal of the EU.

Visa-free travel will be granted to Georgia upon entry into force of the amended suspension mechanism regulation. We hope the outstanding legislative procedures will be completed soon and Georgian citizens holding biometric passports will be able to travel visa-free to the EU/Schengen countries (for 90 days within a 180-day period)."