Georgia and the EU

The European Union and Georgia enjoy a very close and positive relationship. The EU-Georgia Association Agreement entered into force in July 2016 and strives for political association and economic integration between the EU and Georgia. The EU and Georgia have also entered into a Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area (DCFTA), while Georgian citizens have benefitted from visa free travel to the Schengen area since 28 March 2017. The EU is Georgia's largest trading partner and provides over €100 million to Georgia annually in technical and financial assistance.

Free Trade

Free Trade The preparatory process for the DCFTA began in 2009. The commission’s fact-finding trade mission visit to Tbilisi on October 13-14, 2008 laid the groundwork for the preparatory process to start negotiations on the Free Trade Agreement.

Following the visit, in March 2009 the Georgian government was presented with the EU Commission’s Recommendations Regarding Georgia’s Preparedness for the DCFTA Negotiations.

Per the recommendations, four priority fields were identified by the EU Commission before starting the talks: technical barriers to trade, sanitary and phytosanitary measures (food safety), intellectual property rights, and competition.


DCFTA Agreement talks officially began in December 2011. The talks ended in July 2013, after a total of six discussion rounds.
The initialization of Association Agreement was conducted in November 28-29th, 2013, in frames of the “Eastern Partnership” Summit in Vilnius.

On June 27th, 2014, in Brussels the Prime Minister of Georgia signed the Association Agreement. From September 1st, 2014, the DCFTA part of the Association Agreement was entered into force. The remaining part of the Association Agreement was entered into force by the EU in July 2016.


For detailed information about complete and updated practical and legal information about the DCFTA to the customers, entrepreneurs and other interested parties in Georgian and English languages, follow the link.